Beauty, Hair, Reviews

Albertos VO5: Final Thoughts

img_20180711_153225.jpg

I’m going to give you my final thought on all my shampoos and conditioners from Alberto VO5 line.  For the past 4 months, I’ve been using each product interchangeably and consistently and I have truly enjoyed them all.

Thoughts: I’ll be doing this in the following order which includes; Consistency, Texture, Colour and Performance. I’ll also put the different ingredients that each product doesn’t have in common and afterwards, Observation and Final Thoughts.

Shampoos:

img_20180521_080525-e1526890410427.jpg
from left to right: strawberries, passion fruit, kiwi lime

I have three shampoos namely Strawberry, Kiwi Lime Squeeze, and Passion Fruit Smoothie.

Consistency:

1. Strawberry; is in between thick and thin.

2. Kiwi Squeeze; is the thinnest and there’s no other reason but if you read further, you’ll understand why it is so.

3. Passion Fruit; is the thickest and as with the rest, you don’t need too much to get the job done.

Texture:

The whole 3 shampoos feel smooth and they apply easily.

However, Kiwi and Passion gave serious definition to my hair.

Colour/Scent:

1. Kiwi is yellow with a hint of blue and has a subtle kiwi-lime scent.

2. Strawberry is strawberry red and pearlescent in colour. It has a serious strawberry scent but not overpowering.

3. Peach has the peachy pink colour and also has a soft peach scent.

Performance:

1. Kiwi Lime Squeeze has more lather and moisturised the hair instead of clarifying it.

2. Strawberry is in between which means it just washed my hair of all dirt and nothing more.

3. Peach Smoothie performs better with my hair and still retained my hair oils i.e. it didn’t strip my hair of its natural oils.

Conditioners:

IMG_20180521_080404
From left to right; Kiwi Lime, Coconut, and Ocean Fresh.

I equally have three conditioners from this line which includes Ocean Fresh, Kiwi and Island Coconut Milk.

Consistency:

1. Kiwi; is thick.
2. Ocean Fresh; is not as thick as Kiwi.
3. Island Coconut; is the thickest!

Colour/Scent:

1. Kiwi; is a mixture of acidic yellow and a hint of blue and it smells like the shampoo.
2. Ocean Fresh; is of a mixture of a yellow with a blue hint and it has fresh ocean breeze scent.
3. Island Coconut; is opaque white and smells like coconut milk.

Performance:

1. Kiwi applied just fine and I was able to easily brush my hair.

2.  Ocean Fresh; apply better and it also made my detangling job easy.

3. Island Coconut; I saw the visible difference immediately because my curls popped and it was a lot easier to brush my hair.

Ingredient List:

Some ingredients were not added in some which explained a few things;

Shampoo:

1. Kiwi; has no glycol stearate (which is used as a thickening agent and it explains why it’s runny than others).

There’s West India Lemon Grass Leaf Extract, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Kiwi Fruit Extract and Lime Peel Extract.

2. Strawberry; contains Soy Milk Protein and Strawberry Leaf Extract.

3. Passion Smoothie; also contains Soy Milk Protein, Purple Passion Flower Extract and Peach Fruit Extract.

However, the remaining ingredients are all the same.

Conditioner:

1. Kiwi; has Hydrolyzed Collagen, West India Lemon Grass Leaf Extract, Rosemary Extract, Kiwi Fruit Extract and Lime Peel Extract.

2. Ocean Fresh; contains Algae Extract and Sea Salt.

3. Island Coconut; contains Coconut Extract.

Rest of the ingredients are all the same.

Observation:

I lost more hair on my Kiwi/Strawberry/Ocean Fresh section than Passion/Coconut Section.

Although, I’ve had my hair in a protective style for 3 weeks which is understandable if my hair sheds.

Final Thought:

They all performed very well but Passion Smoothie performed best for my hair in shampoo category, while Island Coconut Milk gave more definition and Kiwi Lime Squeeze packs in all the punch as ingredients are concerned in conditioner category.

Verdict:

All these shampoo/conditioners are great but I’ve already talked about what works best for my hair at the moment. It may change tomorrow if for instance their climate change or hormone change but before then, these products work, cheap and available. Try one for yourself and know what works best for your hair because no two hair is the same. I’ll see you in the comment section.

Muah!

3 thoughts on “Albertos VO5: Final Thoughts”

Leave a comment